From the Klosterrath Hof to the Rodderhof
Discover the history of our hotel
In 1248, the Augustiner monks from Klosterrath near Aachen built what was then known as the Klosterrath Hof–known today as RODDERHOF–directly along the upper gate within the Ahrweiler city wall.
It was the centre-point of the monks’ estate management.
The hotel was created in close cooperation with the Rhineland-Palatinate Monuments Office. The existing walls were restored and integrated into the project in order to preserve the essence of the complete object.
The estate consists of a wondrously-beautiful two-storeyed quarry-stone building, a rectangular adjacent building section as well as elongated working quarters with a gateway. The monasterial inner courtyard is rounded off with a modern one-and-one-half-storeyed building.
Additional historical gems of the Rodderhof are a Brettbaluster staircase in an architecturally-appealing residential house and the impressive stucco ceiling on the ground floor.
The estate got its name from the Augustiner canons who already owned many vineyards in the 13th century in the Ahrweiler District. The monastery itself was closely associated with the Counts of Saffenburg who owned their Rode Castle near the monastery–this castle then later along with the Marienthal Monastery.
In order to have their daily sacramental wines, but also in order to host their friends, the Klosterrath monks initially introduced difficult terrace construction to the steep slopes on their estates along the Ahr. Even today, the Klosterley vineyard reminds one of the monks of Klosterrath.
After Ahrweiler became a city in 893, the inhabitants erected the city wall–which still stands today completely intact–of the red wine metropolis. In 1248, the monks moved onto a larger estate within the city walls of Ahrweiler.
In the vernacular, this estate received the name “Rodderhof” and remained under the Klosterrath’s ownership for centuries until secularisation took place. As the result of a large fire, it was destroyed in 1689. The destroyed estate was only then rebuilt in 1714 and was transformed into a two-storeyed residential house with eight axes as well as working quarters, a circular wall and a gateway.
The estate was listed in a home directory as a “house with a barn, adjacent fruit garden” which was constructed by order of the Cologne Archbishop on 28 July 1659.
After the chaos of the 30-Year War, these records of the taxable goods were supposed to contribute to appropriately allocating the tax burdens. After the left bank of the Rhine was seized by the French, as the result of the consular resolution of 9 June 1802, the secularisation of the monasterial estate was implemented.
A year later, the estate became the property of the French government. The Kreuzberg Family, who acquired almost one-third of the monasteries and manors from the French government, also purchased the ownership rights to the Rodderhof. In 1884, the Kreuzberg siblings were named owners. At the beginning of the 20th century, the city of Ahrweiler became the owner of the Rodderhof and the Baroque-style residential house was given monumental protection.
Over many years, the estate was used for a wide array of purposes. In 1990, the Treukontor Company acquired it in order to run it as a hotel which remains its use even today.
On 07/05/1993, the hotel became operational. Since then, our family has managed the Hotel Rodderhof’s business dealings.
Your Hempen Family